Ultimate Iowa Powerlifting
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Ultimate Iowa Powerlifting

A forum dedicated to powerlifting in Iowa and Iowa City

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Mock Meet July

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
David Petersen
Class II
Class II
David Petersen

Mock Meet July Empty
PostSubject: Mock Meet July   Mock Meet July Icon_minitimeFri Jun 28, 2013 1:28 pm

So I’m new to the team, you guys probably have not met me, but I’m David.

At the direction of several individuals strong(er) than me I am going to do a mock meet. I’m planning on doing this either July 13th or 14th. Everyone that this concerns is probably aware but NASA Grand Nattys is the same weekend, and the UPA meet is the weekend after (20th-21st). With that said I wanted to inquire/open this up to members of the team, so anyone not competing for whatever reason. I would have just done one of the meets, but found out about them (yesterday) on a little short notice. You don't have to hit maxes, or even treat it like a "meet". I just figured this would be a good way to meet people in the club, albeit only the ones not competing that weekend.

I plan on doing this at 319 Fitness. It’s a small gym operated by one guy. The equipment isn’t fancy, but they have a cage (1), platform (1), and benches (2). The gym is usually slow if you keep away from peak hours, and weekends are really slow. I don’t see us being there for a mock meet (most of the day) being a huge issue.

I have no issue doing it at the CRWC. If a number of people end up wanting to do this, it might be logistically easier to just do it at the CRWC. Weekends sound somewhat slow there, and all we really would have to do is yellow-tape one platform with our gym bags.

--Details as we get closer